Review

Happy birthday to me

Today marks the beginning of my 42nd year. Spookily, if you convert 10/10/10 from binary to decimal (as you do), the answer is 42. As 10/10/10 is a once-a-millenium event, I can’t help feeling this a good omen, especially as one of my all-time favourite authors is Douglas Adams, who told us that the answer to the ultimate question about Life, the Universe and Everything is 42.

Regular readers will notice this week’s post is quite late. That’s because I’ve been working on a submission to the BAFTA Rocliffe New Writing Forum. Should I be accepted, it will be a great opportunity for me to meet, and learn from, industry professionals. I’m very conscious that my submission will be one amongst many hundreds, so I need all the good omens I can get.

While I was preparing the submission, I attended a live interview with Sir Tom Stoppard, a fundraiser for Open Cinema. It was brilliant timing: as my anxiety levels were rising, his views helped centre me and make me focus on what was really important. I’ve tried to capture the lessons I took in this week’s review: A crew cut and a leather jacket.

Leave a Reply

