Rant

Truth, lies and freedom

Well, there’s no way I could stay silent on the Wikileaks issue, is there? If you know me at all, you know that I regard freedom of information as critical to democracy, and it’s quite clear to me that’s under attack right now. When dicks like the Daily Mail’s Richard Littlejohn are protected, you know we need someone like Assange.

I actually started a rant about the attacks on Assange when the sexual misconduct allegations first came out a few months ago, but they were dropped so quickly I dropped it too. Now it seems like that story is bigger than the freedom of information story. I’m no conspiracy theorist, but it does seem mighty convenient. I would never argue in support of a rapist but I think we can all be grown up enough to understand that even if he is guilty of that crime, we still need Wikileaks to exist.

If all of this is too tedious for you, why don’t you pop over to the fiction section and have a read of my back catalogue instead. Leave a comment, you know you want to.

Leave a Reply

