Short Fiction

Living in interesting times

I had a friend at Uni who was really into the prophecies of Nostradamus. I always found it amusing that there’s no mention of Australia. So insignificant in the grand scheme of things the poor old boy never saw a glimpse of the sunburnt country. But then I heard the curse ‘may you live in interesting times’ and reflected it might be better to be one of history’s unsung.

But interesting times, it is, this week. The people of Egypt have followed the people of Tunisia and overthrown a dictator. Some media outlets are crediting 26 year old Asmaa Mahfouz with sparking the revolution. Will her name go down in history?

As I write, protests are taking place in Algeria. Revolutionary fire is spreading. Closer to home, people all over the UK are participating in and preparing for more protests, more acts of civil disobedience, as the reality of the Tories ill-conceived and dangerous policies starts to become real. Twitter chat suggests the UKUNCUT movement is inspiring similar grassroots activity in the US.

And in the midst of it all, I keep trying to write. Trying to shed the stress of laying of more than half my team, the anxiety about what will happen if one of us loses our job, the worry about family members and friends. It’s not easy.

This week, my story is about choices. This is not my beautiful life has taken a long time to write: I first conceived the basic idea years ago. I hope you like it.

PS. Next week is rewrite week. Have you voted yet for which one  I should rewrite?

 

Leave a Reply

