Rant · Writing on writing

Pinch & a punch

Happy 1 July everyone!

It’s been a whole year now since I went live with this blog. And I’ve decided it’s time I stop trying to publish a new story each week. Here’s why: I don’t actually have an ambition to be a short story writer. I would like to publish the occasional opinion piece, but mainly because I’m never knowingly without an opinion. My real ambition is to write novels and screenplays.

The blog has been great for helping me get disciplined, and for learning that I am capable of engaging a reader. If you’d told me this time last year that my work would be read by more than 6000 people, I wouldn’t have believed you. But I’m not making progress on my longer projects while I’m spending the little time I have to write feeding this insatiable beast.

So I’m going to take a break to concentrate on those longer pieces for awhile. I’ll still occasionally publish shorter pieces, but I’m taking away the self-imposed pressure to create something new every week. If you have enjoyed that, I hope you’ll understand my decision.

I want to say a massive thank you to everyone who has read and commented here. I cannot express how much pleasure it gives me to have people read and respond to my work.

Here’s one last installment of weekly pieces, A Small Glass of Sherry, a (slightly) tongue-in-cheek rant about plans to reduce alcohol limits for old people. Enjoy it with cheese, or a small dish of olives.

One thought on “Pinch & a punch

  1. Congratulations on a fruitful year. It’s been time very well spent but you can only spent so long limbering up and, with time not readily available, it makes total sense that you’re now about to jump into the game and put your creativity and energy into things you’re really invested in. And then maybe others (take note production companies and publishers!!) will invest as well. Well done on what you’ve done and what I know you will do. Looking forward to a siren-filled future!

    Like

Leave a Reply

