Writing on writing

Marking a milestone

It’s just over a year since I quit blogging regularly to focus on longer projects. I’m quite bloody chuffed to announce that today I finished the first draft of my first novel. I’m a little bit emotional, to be honest.

I started work on this idea in October last year, after hitting a bit of a brick wall on both the screenplay outlines I had going. I did about two months of plotting and working out before I started writing in earnest in January of this year.

It’s been hard at times and when I lost my job it seemed frivolous to write instead of looking for work but, aside from about three weeks where I barely went to my writing room, I’ve done a little bit every day. And now, it’s done, about 65,000 words of god-knows-what quality. But god, it feels good.

3 thoughts on “Marking a milestone

Leave a Reply

