Writing on writing

A lesson from Charlie Kaufman

Two blog posts in three days. Is this what procrastination looks like now? I’ll get back to it right away, I promise.

I found a lecture by Charlie Kaufman,  one of my writing heroes, on BAFTA’s Guru website (which I highly recommend to all aspiring filmmakers or lovers of film) recently, so I put the podcast on to play while I was doing some admin this morning. I’ve listened to it twice already and I will confess I got quite teary the first time through. I get teary watching commercials though, so that may not mean anything.

I’ve downloaded the transcript and will no doubt listen to it again. There is so much in there that resonates with me. But he provoked me too: it’s really given me a lot to think about. My initial reaction to what I learned from Charlie Kaufman is Why I don’t want writing to be a job.

I’m interested in how other writers’ react to his thoughts: if that’s you, and you’ve heard the lecture, I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

