Fiction · Flash Fiction · In praise of... · Opinion

Surviving ‘interesting’ times

Whimageat a week it was! I can’t actually bring myself to list all the nasty shit that went down. Who knew the 21st century would be notable for its cold acceptance of child torture in developed nations?

I had mindfulness training on Tuesday, which was great. I have been toying with meditation using apps but the course really helped me understand the principles much better. One of my key learnings was that it’s okay to have fun: you don’t have to be serious and chant ohms. You can simply delight in your senses. A big part of it is being kind to yourself. I think most people I know could do with forgiving themselves a little more.

I feel the strain of these awful times. I know I could switch off Twitter, my source of news, and just not give attention, but at the same time I can’t bear to be uninformed. I do speak out, not that anyone is listening, but it seems worse to pretend nothing is happening.

What I need to remember is that I can also be in the moment, enjoying my life. The reality is that although I have my worries and problems, like anyone, I am also safe, and loved. Most days there’s sunshine, and I get to do work that does good in the world. And I get to write.

I’ve posted a new short story this week. The friendly sort is another of my suburban series, about the danger of underestimating people. I’d love your feedback.

One thought on “Surviving ‘interesting’ times

Leave a Reply

