Fiction · Flash Fiction · Writing on writing

Putting myself about

I broke out of my comfort zone this week and joined a writing group. I have known for some time that this is a Good Thing for your writing but have been making excuses. However, the agent who read my novel suggested I join one. It seems like a good idea to take the advice of a professional when its offered so I finally got off my butt and did it.

Sisters in Crime was recommended to me by a writer friend (thanks Jodi!) and after connecting via social media I went along to the October meeting. The information on Facebook said to bring a thousand words to read. The combination of meeting a bunch of strangers and having to read my writing aloud (last done when we had yet to discover what it meant to party like 1999) slightly freaked me out so I used the old tactic of not thinking about it in the lead up so I didn’t chicken out. Mindfulness training helping a lot here! Of course, I worried needlessly (that will probably be on my tombstone): they were all lovely women, generous and welcoming, and I had a lovely afternoon drinking champagne (optional) with interesting people and talking about crime writing. What had I worried about?

As well as forcing myself to expose my work to critique, belonging to the group should encourage me to submit work, another Good Thing I have had a pretty poor track record on. Sisters in Crime encourage members to write something for the meeting each month so that each year they have a few options to enter in the Scarlet Stiletto Awards.

New flash fiction: A Fire of Righteousness

This month’s theme was ‘Arson with Murder’ so I wrote A Fire of Righteousness. Those friends who’ve been kind enough to help with my novel will recognise the scenario. “Could it be the beginning to the sequel?’ I was asked.Maybe it could. As always, I would love to hear your thoughts.

 

One thought on “Putting myself about

Leave a Reply

