Opinion

Poison and an antidote

I periodically try to wean myself off social media but world events keep sucking me back in.  Like a smoker who just can’t quit, I’m in a seemingly endless cycle of giving up or cutting back then suddenly finding I’m on a pack a day again.

I’m not anti social media, far from it, but I do ascribe to the theory that repeatedly filling your brain with toxic or scary information is not good for your mental health.

Well, of course, this week has been another shit show. Remember when we thought 2016 was a bad year?

I really wanted to write something positive, publish something to make feel people better about the world, but this week it just wouldn’t come. I wrote this:

On building walls between us

Understanding why humans are so easily divided is a preoccupation of mine. It seems so obvious to me that we have more in common than that which divides us. The why I still have no clue about, but the how is quite apparent.

Coincidentally, this week I stumbled across a quote by Sufi mystic Yunus Emre, from the 13th century. If there’s any antidote to the poisonous propaganda that make us build walls, it’s this philosophy:

Come let is be friends for once. Let us make life easy on us. Let us be loved ones and lovers. The earth shall be left to no one.

As I’ve said before: life sucks. Be kind. 

One thought on “Poison and an antidote

Leave a Reply

