Writing on writing

Curse you, Inner Critic!

I had an epiphany today. I’ve been down for a few days and struggling to make any progress with my writing.

I pitched my screenplay project to producers and agents at the London Screenwriter’s Festival last month. To my utter delight, I was asked to submit it to a few people. It felt like an endorsement of my commitment to pursuing my ambitions as a writer.

And all of a sudden I can’t write.

I am merely hours of work away from being able to send it off. And I’ve hardly done a thing. It’s taken me three days to edit 10 pages. But I realised this afternoon that I’m just having a crisis of confidence. My Inner Critic bested me.

I wrote about it to help me get over it. Hopefully A bout with my Inner Critic will help me recognise her before she gets her claws in next time.

But now I must crack on!

3 thoughts on “Curse you, Inner Critic!

  1. Crack on and good for you to write it out of your system. These pesty inner voices can be distracting….now move on and trust yourself. These producers have seen something in you to ask for a submission. So trust them if not yourself. Xxx

    Like

    1. Couldn’t agree more with passionkat – she took the words right off my keyboard! That internal kybosh system is as valuable as guilt and worry to our productiveness. Those people wanted to see your work for a reason so what you give them will simply be an extension of what they’ve already liked. Push through those doubts and just do what you do so well. (And if it helps, don’t think about where your writing is going – just write because it’s what you love to do and don’t think about the destination or any actions that might follow.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

